Home > About Us > Departments > CCA (NEW) > School Teams > Aesthetics

Aesthetics

Chinese Dance

Our dancers are exposed to learning various types of traditional dances which are then performed during major school events, such as the Chinese New Year Celebration. 

During our weekly training sessions, dancers will be coached to develop flexibility and techniques as part of the dance curriculum. 

These dance training sessions also help to build good rapport between seniors and juniors as they train and learn alongside each other. 

Our teachers and instructors provide opportunities of performances at various platforms. By exposing them to performing, we aim to develop in them leadership skills and important values like teamwork, care, responsibility and resilience.
 

Teachers-in-Charge

Email

Ms Chiu Kit Ying (OIC)

chiu_kit_ying@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Shanie Wu (OIC)

wu_lin_ying@moe.edu.sg

Ms Liew Yi Shing

liew_yi_shing@moe.edu.sg

Ms Chen Li Chuan

chen_li_chuan@moe.edu.sg


Choir

Fairfield Methodist School (Primary) Choir is made up of passionate girls and boys who simply delight in singing. With the dedication and commitment of our Choral Instructors, Ms Susanna Pua (Senior), Mrs Stephenie Ong (Junior) and our choir teachers, our senior choir achieved the Certificate of Distinction for SYF since 2014.

Our choir is designed to enhance the musical, creative and expressive qualities of our members’ voices. It is comprised of the Junior Choir (P3) and the Senior Choir (P4 to P6). Despite the pandemic, our choir had the opportunity to perform virtually during Honours Day and worked in partnership with the Esplanade in sharing their voices with the wider community, through the song “Voices – A Festival of Song and Journeying with Song – A Choral Soundscape”.

Through the choir practices, students learn to apply musical skills to create and experience music as an ensemble. Values, like Respect and Serving and Giving, are also inculcated during CCA practice sessions.

Teachers-in-Charge

Email

Mrs Janet Heng (OIC)

goh_chen_chen_janet@moe.edu.sg

Mr On Tai Jim (OIC)

on_tai_jim@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Tan Wee Ling

tan_wee_ling@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Yaw Siok Ching

tan_siok_ching@moe.edu.sg


Concert Band

The Band CCA aims to arouse and sustain students’ interest in music and cultivate the joy and excitement of playing together as a group. Students are given access to a variety of woodwind, brass and percussion instruments. They will also build up their knowledge in music theory by playing in an orchestral environment. 

The Band is helmed by professionally trained musicians and approved instructors who also have a deep passion for teaching and sharing their love for Music. We hope students will build a lifelong love for performing and become great instrumentalists. It is also our wish that being in the band would impart in them leadership skills and important values like teamwork, respect, responsibility and resilience.

Teachers-in-Charge

Email

Mrs Serena Chan (OIC)

chew_mei_jun_serena@moe.edu.sg

Mr Sooraj (OIC)

sooraj_prabhodachandran@moe.edu.sg

Miss Melody Tan

melody_tan_chiu_ling@moe.edu.sg

Miss Erin Tan

tan_erin@moe.edu.sg

Mr Kenneth Ong

ong_kai_min_kenneth@moe.edu.sg

Ms Tan Yee Won

tan_yee_won@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Png Bee Hiong

png_bee_hiong@moe.edu.sg

Miss Suria

suria_mohamed_shafiee@moe.edu.sg

Mr Kenneth Kueh

kenneth_kueh@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Lee Siu Marn

leong_siu_marn@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Lee Li Tang

tang_li_tang@moe.edu.sg


Handbells

The FMS(P) Handbell Ensemble was established in 2009 and comprises a team of passionate Primary Three to Six ringers. During practice sessions, ringers appreciate music from diverse cultures, enhance their musical aptitude and acquire technical skills of handling and ringing of bells.

They also cultivate values such as empathy and respect in their interactions with one another. Performing in school and public venues gives ringers the opportunity to build their confidence in public performances.

Teachers-in-Charge

Email

Ms Ang Bee Chin (OIC)

ang_bee_chin@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Chan Man Pui (OIC)

chan_man_pui@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Lim Sok Hui

lim_sok_hui@moe.edu.sg


Visual Art Club

The Visual Art Club serves as a platform for members to express their artistic flair. We strongly value every member’s artistic talent and welcome students who are passionate about art. We aim to arouse and engage students’ interest in the visual arts with various mediums like ceramics, digital illustrations and animation, lino-prints, painting and drawing.

We have participated in many events, such as Draw My Stamp Story Art Competition and the Singapore Youth Festival (SYF) with artworks exhibited at the National Gallery Singapore. We have also actively partner with our community like HDB and Grace Orchard School, to create artworks together. Through these projects, we have developed our technical competency to complete them efficiently as well as learning to collaborate with one other.

The Visual Art Club will strive to continue to be a place where young artists can grow and hone their skills in the creative arts. Through competition and collaboration, we aim to inculcate in them leadership skills and important values like teamwork, care, responsibility, and resilience.

 

Teachers-in-Charge

Email

Mdm Ching Yuk Ling (OIC)

ching_yuk_ling@moe.edu.sg

Miss Regina Tay (OIC)

tay_chin-na_regina@moe.edu.sg

Mr Wong Yek Yue

wong_yek_yue@moe.edu.sg

Miss Amilia

nurul_amilia_roshamil@moe.edu.sg



Media & Infocomm Club

The Media InfoComm Club CCA aims to excite students about Information Communication and Technology (ICT) in a fun and meaningful way by helping them to become responsible users and contributors of technology and media. We aim to equip them with varied skills. The modules the students will be learning include:

1.     Photography
2.     Videography and editing
3.     Digital-Animation
4.     Coding and Programming

The club aims to provide opportunities to practise soft skills such as leadership and teamwork. It also leverages on digital media as a tool to enhance students' creative and critical thinking skills.

Students contribute to the school by helping out as photographers and videographers during school events.

Teachers-in-Charge

Email

Mrs Grace Wee

tay_pei_lyn_grace@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Jessica Loh

teo_yiying_jessica@moe.edu.sg